The good ol’ car

29 01 2009

What is it about a car that makes one redefine their sense of freedom. Ah! the smell of freedom, where you realize that from this point forward your life will never be the same again. Its the one place where you can be yourself, just you and the car and whole wide world waiting for you to explore! (of course not if the traffic has anything to do with it)

I remembered that feeling when I saw an old 800 driven proudly by its owner the other day. My first car was an 800. More specifically a Maruti Suzuki 800 MPFI 5 Speed – Golden Brown….at that point I really thought it was worth it’s weight in gold.

I still remember the way the car drove, the way the 796 cc engine struggles if there are more than 2 people in the car as if it were  saying to me – ‘this car is for you and you only – what the heck are you doing bringing all these people on board’

The car was tiny, more akin to a an over sized matchbox. But it got me from one place to the next efficiently and without trouble. If you remember your 800 or if you are driving one, you will notice that most of variants have bad gear boxes, forget the straight lines to change the gears, this didn’t work that way. It’s as if the gear has a mind of its own. Allow me to explain: for most cars the shift from second gear to third is a up-right and above straight line. But to an 800 its a slant line straight across – sheer thrill :). No lag in speed during gear changes, no problem getting through traffic because it was so tiny, fun fast and zippy.

The car gave me a good two years until it was sold. I always wonder whether I will see it again. But wherever it is I hope it knows I miss it and would jump at a chance to own it again.

To the 800 – I will always miss that car.

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 01 2009
Guncha

Thats such a sweet post … my first car was an 800 too (actually it was a hand-me-down from my mum) … in fact I even learnt driving on it … and it still rests with my Dad who refuses to sell it (he also refuses to sell his 1999 model Santro) …

29 01 2009
Nikhil

Giant leap!

29 01 2009
randomauthor

Guncha, tell him never to sell it.

29 01 2009
randomauthor

Thanks Nikhil 🙂

29 01 2009
P

agree with nikhil..giant leap for sure! keep it rolling A. 🙂

Leave a Reply

